Google My Business

Which Google My Business Access Level Should You Be In?

Myta Santiago 5 mins read
Which Google My Business Access Level Should You Be In?

When you create and verify your Google My Business listing, either on the DigitalMaas Platform or through the GMB manager, you’ll notice that you can give other people access to your listing. It can be fun to let in others in your business post things about your team, products and services, or update your information. But how do you know if they do deserve to get the permissions they have?

That’s why Google My Business has three main permissions levels: Owner, Manager and Site Manager – each with their own capabilities that may be shared with one level or more. You don’t have to worry about someone editing any information because they won’t have access to doing so and you can rest well knowing that even if you’re not looking at your GMB listing that there are others making sure everything is moving like clockwork. This also eliminates having you give up your own private details as other owners and managers can use their own accounts to log into that one Google My Business account.

So if you’re given access to Google My Business, where do you think should you be? Let’s take a closer look at each permission level below.

Owner

There can be multiple owners, but only one primary owner. The primary owner should remain with the main business owner, while your agency will have owner access. As the Primary owner, you will retain primary ownership and have the ability to add or remove users, and you will have the ability to group your multiple business listings into Location Groups or Folders.

Ownership access is given to: Primary Business Owner, Agency

Manager

As a Manager, you will have most of the capabilities of an owner – this includes fully optimising your listing, with all features enabled for you, from Primary Business information such as your Name, Address, Category, Phone number, and Map Pin. A Manager will be able to see who else has access to your business listing, but cannot add or remove new / existing permissions. If you’re running Google Ads for your location, a manager is also required to link your Google My Business Location to your Google Ads account. This is only done once.

Manager access is given to: Area Managers, Agency

Site Manager

Site Managers will have access to update most of the business information that’s important for day to day operations, such as Managing photos, updating store hours, adding new products and services, responding to reviews, and creating new Google Posts and offers. They will not have the ability to change primary information such as your business name, categories.

A Site Manager will not be able to approve all Google suggested changes such as a suggested change on the address and business name, as those are classified as primary business information. A Manager or Owner will have to approve those suggested changes.

Site Manager access is given to: Store Manager, Social Media and Customer Support teams

For more detailed information explaining permission levels, you can rerefer to this table:

Google My Business Access in Practice

Now let’s put this into a real-life scenario.

You’ve recently decided to be more visible on search results by creating a Google My Business listing. You’ve informed your marketing team about this and they’re on board with you.

Now you go and create the listing, making sure that all the information you put there is correct (if you don’t know what to add, here’s our guide to optimising your Google My Business listing part one and part two to get you started), populate your Google posts and ask your existing customers to share their experiences with you through the Reviews section (we have a guide for that too).

But you’re only one person and doing everything within Google My Business can be tiring. So why not let your other teammates join in on the fun?

So… where do you start?

Your social media manager is raring to go and create posts but you don’t want them to edit your other business information – either accidentally or on purpose. It’s better if you just give them the Site Manager access where they can publish on Google Posts, respond to reviews and take a look at the insights.

On the other hand, your marketing manager needs more permissions to work around GMB – especially if you’re not present to check on it – but not enough that they can add or remove users. It would be best to give them the Manager access where they can do creative posts while making sure that all business information is accurate and updated.

Finally, even if you’re the owner of GMB, you still want someone else to take the reins from time to time. You have an Operations Manager willing to stand in for you in case you really can’t be bothered checking into GMB, so you give them Owner access to make sure that things are A-OK in both the back and front end of your listing.

But wait – you’ve hired an agency to manage your listing for you but all you want them to do is create posts and create reports for you by looking at the insights. What is the best level for them?

Technically, it’s up to you. You can place them either on Owner, Manager or Site Manager level, depending on your requirements.

Adding a colleague or an agency to your Google My Business account is straightforward – you can find our detailed instructions in our support centre.

You can also log in the DigitalMaas Platform and add your colleagues.

  1. Log in the DigitalMaas Platform.
  2. On the upper right-hand corner click your business logo or initials and choose ‘Account Details’.
  3. On the left side, click ‘Team Settings’.
  4. On the right side of the screen, click ‘Add User’. You can now fill in the details of that person and send them a verification email.

Make your Google My Business a playground of ideas by giving your colleagues the right permission levels.

 

Myta Santiago

Content writer, book blogger, sensitivity reader and proofreader with years of experience. Aside from providing evergreen web content, they are also an aspiring historical fantasy author. Reads 50-80 books a year, so you know they mean business when it comes to writing.

DigitalMaas

Create your account

Free for 30 days. No credit card required.

By clicking the button above, you are agreeing to the DigitalMaas’ Terms of Service and Privacy Policy

Already Registered? Sign In